top of page
Copy of IVF forum banner 980X380 (4).png

Intrauterine insemination (IUI) is a fertility treatment that involves preparing and selecting the best quality sperm from your partner, and then depositing the collected sperm inside the uterus using a syringe or catheter-like medical device around the time that the egg is being released.

There are two types of IUI:

1. Natural cycle IUI  

Natural cycle IUI is one of the more simple assisted reproduction methods. You do not require any form of hormonal stimulation. It is usually performed around the time of ovulation. This is more suitable for women who have regular menstruation cycles, and can predict ovulation. You will be required to monitor your own ovulation cycle, which may involve using LH strips on urine samples to monitor a LH surge, blood estradiols, regular scans, etc.

2.  Stimulated IUI

A stimulated IUI is a process in which you are given fertility drugs to stimulate ovulation. The fertility drugs given can either be orally administered tablets or injections. Medication will usually be started on Day 2 of the cycle for 4 to 5 days. This is better suited for women who do not have a regular cycle as it helps to generate more than one follicle.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page